Computer Science & ICT


Computer Science Department 
The Computing department enables students to access both Computer Science and ICT subjects throughout the Key Stages. 

At Key Stage three, students will learn about e-safety, how to manipulate sound, computational thinking and coding using user-friendly packages such as Scratch and how to use flowcharts to make real-life computer simulations work. They will learn to program in Python, giving them a foundation for GCSE controlled assessment. They will also learn about the theoretical aspects of computing as an introduction to the content for the Component 1 - Computer Systems in their KS4 studies.

At Key Stage 4, students are then given two pathways to follow in depth, at GCSE. They can either select the Computer Science route or the ICT route.
The Computer Science GCSE we offer is by OCR and has been running for many years. Students will take two exams worth 80% in total, and one controlled assessment worth 20%. All three elements will be sat in year 11. Students will spend year 9 and 10 learning the exam content and developing coding skills and understanding needed to complete the controlled assessment in year 11.
The ICT level 2 qualification we offer is NCFE Level 2 Technical Award. The Interactive media course is the integration of digital media including combinations of electronic text, graphics, moving images, and sound, into a structured digital computerised environment that allows people to interact with the data for appropriate purposes. 1) Portfolio of evidence (4 Coursework Units – 60% of overall grade) 2) External exam paper (External Assignment set – 40% of overall grade). 


At Key Stage 5, we offer the Level 3 Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in IT following the Application Developer Pathway. The course allows pupils to broaden their Computing knowledge to cover both Computer Science and ICT. Learners will be able to develop the core knowledge, skills and understanding the IT sector required in the IT sector, and develop further skills by completing a range of units through a choice of these specialist pathways: 
• IT Infrastructure Technician
• Emerging Digital Technology Practitioner
• Application Developer
• Data Analyst
In Key Stage 5, Pupils will be completing the following units:
> Unit 1: Fundamentals of IT (Exam Unit)
> Unit 2: Global information  (Exam Unit)
> Unit 6: Application design. (Internally Assessed Coursework - Externally Moderated)
> Unit 9: Product development. (Internally Assessed Coursework - Externally Moderated)
> Unit 21: Web design and prototyping. (Internally Assessed Coursework - Externally Moderated)
In this section: