Skip to content ↓
WELCOME TO THE MATHEMATICS DEPARTMENT

The Mathematics Department's ethos at Cardinal Newman is to equip students with the numeracy and problem solving skills they need whilst also helping them discover the beauty of exploring mathematical patterns and concepts.

All teachers are committed to maintaining and stimulating pupil's interest and enjoyment in Mathematics and promote thinking and problem solving skills.

A variety of activities and resources are used to enable pupils to work independently as well as collaboratively and as part of a team allowing them to use core skills such as communication and listening skills.

We are further committed to enable pupils to be familiar with the knowledge, principles and vocabulary related to Mathematics and to enable pupils to see that Mathematics is central to our understanding of the world in which we live.

MEET THE DEPARTMENT

Mr. Steve Owen – Acting Head of Mathematics- steve.owen@cncs.school

Mr Alexander Heyes- KS5 Coordinator, Most Able- alexander.heyes@cncs.school

Mr Anil Mistry- KS4 Coordinator - anil.mistry@cncs.school

Mr Krzysztof Rojek - krzysztof.rojek@cncs.school

Miss Anita Bagri - anita.bagri@cncs.school

Mr Andrew Bullock - Andrew.bullock@cncs.school

Mr Sean Davis - sean.davis@cncs.school

Mr Jack Kemp - Assistant Head Teacher - jack.kemp@cncs.school

Mr Robert Poole - Head of Year 11 - robert.poole@cncs.school

Mrs Hannah Stowe - hannah.stowe@cncs.school

Mr Ethan Web - ethan.webb@cncs.school

Ms Fiona Irwin- Higher Level Teaching Assisstant - fiona.irwin@cncs.school

HOMEWORK

Homework is set for mathematics via online platforms, Hegarty Maths and Mathswatch. Students in Years 7-9 will complete tasks on Hegarty Maths. Students in year 10 and 11 predominantly use Mathswatch.

All year groups are set one piece of homework a week. Both platforms allow the class teacher to set questions based around a given topic. Tasks are automatically marked to allow students to get immediate feedback. If a student is stuck, they can access helpful videos on the platform they are using and can leave messages for their class teacher to request further detailed help.

Pupils will be given a colour coded percentage score to let them know how they have done. Parents can monitor this and encourage students to focus their revision on the topics in red or seek further support.

Login details for both websites will be shared with students by their class teachers. If you forget your passwords, please talk to Mr Owen, who can reset them for you.

Hegarty Maths

https://hegartymaths.com

Login using your full legal name and date of birth. Hegarty will then ask you to set your own password.

Mathswatch

https://vle.mathswatch.co.uk/vle/

Username pnumber@cncs   (e.g p1234@cncs)

Password:  Full date of birth in DDMMYYYY format   (13092006)

A Level Maths and Further Maths are set 5 hours of independent study per week taking a variety of forms. Students will be given access to resources and question banks on integralmaths.org and kerboodle.

Equipment and Resources

Students should bring the following to every maths lesson

Black/Blue Pens

Pencil

Ruler

Compass

Protractor

Scientific Calculator- (we recommend a Casio FX-83GTX)

Useful websites

www.Corbettmaths.com

www.Integralmaths.org

https://www.physicsandmathstutor.com/

bbc.co.uk/bitesize

Recommended Revision guides

CGP: GCSE AQA Mathematics for the Grade 9-1 Course

Upcoming Events

UKMT- Senior Maths Challenge for Year 12 and 13- October 4th

UKMT Intermediate Maths Challenge Years 10 and 11 February 1st 2023

UKMT Junior Maths Challenge-  Years 7&8 April 26th 2023

Birmingham Catholic Partnership maths challenge- Years 10 and 11-TBC

AMSP Maths Feast-TBC

Key Stage 4 information

AQA GCSE Mathematics

https://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/mathematics/gcse/mathematics-8300

key stage 5 information

A Level Mathematics

https://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/mathematics/as-and-a-level/mathematics-7357

A Level Further Mathematics

https://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/mathematics/as-and-a-level/further-mathematics-7367

For more information on our curriculum intent and implementation, click on the link below

Link to Mathematics curriculum page