Skip to content ↓

Students and staff are encouraged to provide the library with any good reads they have discovered lately. Most reviews and recommendations will have generally come from books that have been borrowed from the school library. Included, however, will also books that have been read from various sources.

Please see the following recommendations and reviews by students and staff.

April/May 2024


February/March 2024

January 2024


1984 – George Orwell
"1984 a dystopian novel by George Orwell in 1949 is set in a time where the state controls all.  It is a revealing book about the fears people had at the time of Stalinist Russia.  It is a vital book to read as it emphasises the importance of truth and the dangers of fake news and surveillance of our everyday lives. Possibly the most frightening aspect of the book is that it is not unbelievable that this could happen!   Big Brother is watching"
   
                                            Mr Canning History                                              

                                       

The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

I like this book because it approaches a range of controversial topics and addresses them from all points of view
Scarlett (Y11)

 

 

 

December 2023

Social Anxiety: Relief to Teens – Bridget Flynn Walker, PhD 

This book has helped me realise that a lot of other people are experiencing    social anxiety. It has helped me figure out how to cope and decrease the stress I sometimes feel.
Aurelia (Year 8)

 

 

 

You Don’t Know What War Is – Yeva Skaltietska

Until you have been there, you don’t know what war is. This is the gripping and moving diary of young Ukrainian refugee Yeva Skaltietska. If follows twelve days in Ukraine that changed 12-year-old Yeva’s life forever. She was woken in the early hours to the terrifying sounds of shelling    Kateryna (Year 9)

 

 

 

Football Rising Stars—Marcus Rashford - Harry Meredith

This is a phenomenal book. It teaches you about self-confidence and helps you to feel better if you are stressed. If you haven’t unlocked your self-confidence yet, this is the book for you to unlock it! Overall this book is a 5 star!   Yuvraj (Year 8)

 

 

 

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

The storyline is a very interesting and easy to follow. It’s not sad but it makes you think about life in a deeper more philosophical way. A very great book. Would read again. Michaela (Year 8)

 

 

 

Smile – Raina Telgemeier

I liked how it was a comic because I could understand it better. I thought it was funny and entertaining and I would definitely recommend it.  Leila (Year 7)

 

 


 

Looshkin ‘OOF! Right in the Puddings!’ - Jamie Smarts

I’ve enjoyed this book as it kept me busy and it’s hilarious. I recommend it to people who like cats and enjoy reading.  Alex (Year 7)

 

 

November 2023

The Complete Maus (Graphic Novel) - Art Spiegelman

 

The Maus graphic novel is a great and creative way to express and show conditions and life during the Holocaust.

                                                                                                                                Alex (Year 8)

October 2023

Percy Jackson Series – Rick Riordan

The Percy Jackson series is an exciting adventure story and if you like Greek gods and stories, this book is for you.

                                                                                                                                Cormac (Year 7)

 

 

Love Frankie – Jacqueline Wilson

A story about a young girl who’s caught in a love triangle. Her best friend likes her but Frankie’s beginning to develop feelings for a girl in her class. The book explores her personal journey of finding who she is, as well as her family-related worries. It describes the multiple emotions a person goes through and the way one person can change everything. It’s really a sweet, hopeful, full-of-emotion book, with a relatable story, making it a book that you don’t want to end.

 

                                                                                                                                            Natalie (Year 10)

September 2023

Dork Diaries

Dork Diaries How to Dork Your Diary was one of the best Dork Diaries I have read. I felt like I was nearly talking to Nikki when reading.

Florence (Year 7)

 

 

Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

I loved it and as I have already seen the films reading it made it even more special.

                                                                                                            Ellie(Year 10)

 

 

 

 

 The Short Second Life of Bree

Detailed story of background character from the main Twilight saga. Shows a distinct fight between what’s right and not etween the characters. The leader, Riley, is raising the new-born vampires”, but one of the vampires, Bree, begins secretly questioning him, which leads her and Diego to find the truth. While the truth takes a while to find, it’s discovered once Bree meets “the enemy” that Riley made out to be so horrible. It genuinely makes you understand a supernatural world in a way that isn’t just about violet, out-of-control, blood-thirsty vampires

                                                                           Natalie (Year 10)

 

 Cinderella is Dead

This is a great book, found it very interesting.

                                                                                    Sienna (Year 10)

 

 

 

 

July 2023 

I would 100% recommend this book. The format and the way the story is told is different and unique. It is a story of breakthrough and revolution. I found it so inspiring and it showed the upsides of fighting for yourself and loved ones. Also the stuggles. It is one of my top 10 books!

                                                                                                                                                                        Aliyah (Year 9)

 

A young girl named Sophie who is whisked away from her home in an orphanage by the giant. He tells her his job is to blow dreams into rooms of neighbours and other giants who eat children.

                                                                                                                  Montez (Year 8)

 

June 2023

Love Frankie is about a tomboy girl whose mother has multiple sclerosis. She feels to quick to grow up and gets bullied at school. She becomes friends with the ring leader of the bullies and her torments end. She appreciates herself and gets to fall in love with herself.

               

                                                                                                                                         Angel (Year 10)

 

These sisters hated each other, there was the oldest sister called Rina and a younger sister called Amara and they also have a very small brother called Will. One day the family wanted to go on a vacation so they decided to go to Colorado. Sadly, they had to leave their father. One day Amara bought a snake to their house which Rina is terrified of but for some reason Amara released it into the car and they thought it had gone out of the car but somehow it didn’t. So, once they got on the road trip the snake appeared and trouble started happening.                                                                      

                                                                                                                                                 Julia (Year 7)

 

 

This book was such an exciting read, a romantic and magical book. I loved how real it felt and the lovely plot and the messages. It is so inspiring. A great summer romance novel. The story follows the blossoming romance between 17-year-old Beatrice and Ben, an artist in Italy. I recommend this for anyone who loves romance and adventure.

                                                                                                                                Gracie (Year 7)

 

MAY 2023

 

Smile by Raina Telgemeler

 

This book was such a funny and relatable comic with some great laughs. It covers topics such as growing up, getting braces and how relationships can change over the years. The story follows a 13 year old girl moving to Middle School. I would recommend this book for Year 7s and 8s, but all years can enjoy it! 😊      

Gracie (Year 7)

                                                              

                                               

I was hooked from the beginning.  Julia and her brother Paul find a strange looking ragdoll on the beach.  A creepy witch is trapped inside the doll which possesses Julia, taking control of her mind and body.  Her younger brother Paul has to enter the eerie, creepy dark world where monsters and other evil creatures are lurking.  Can Paul save his sister from an eternity of being stuck in the dark, twisted world of the witch?  Read the book to find out!

Miss Acton
Staff

 

Sherlock Holmes Baker Street Boys The Case of the Disappearing Detective is a book where it comes down to a normal street boy to save Sherlock and the city.

Alex  - (Y7)
Student Librarian

January 2023

 

Smile by Raina Telgemeler

This book was such a funny and relatable comic with some great laughs. It covers topics such as growing up, getting braces and how relationships can change over the years. The story follows a 13 year old girl moving to Middle School. I would recommend this book for Year 7s and 8s, but all years can enjoy it! 😊

Gracie (Year 7)  

 


Skulduggery Pleasant Series – Derek Landy

I think Skulduggery Pleasant is a really good book. It’s really action packed and reaches the level of books like Harry Potter. If you want a really good action book this is it.

 

Kaleb (Year 7)                                   

                                                    

                                                                                                         

Alex Rider (Graphic Novel) – Anthony Horowitz

If you don’t like reading normal books and you like a fighting style then try Alex Rider. He’s an ordinary boy that goes on missions after his uncle dies. If you want to know more then read Alex Rider.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Cortez (Year 8)                                 

 

Women in Science – Rachel Ignotofsky

This book is about 50 fearless pioneers (who were women) who changed the world. It sets an example to every girl in the world that women ca be successful – you just need to work hard. It shows how women suffered by sexism to get jobs they were passionate about. I recommend this book to girls in secondary school all the way up to women in their late forties. This book would motivate this age group to persevere and to not stop doing what they love. This book would also inspire people to become successful people. Rating: 5 stars.

                                                                                                                                     Sharuga (Year 8)

 

Once Upon a Broken Heart – Stephanie Garber

If you like the genres of romance, fantasy and a little detective story then you will definitely like this book. Also, if you’re like me and want to try something new this book will do just fine too. This story has a lot of plot twists, character development and most importantly it’s not a typical story. Therefore, I highly recommend you read it.

                                                                                                                                     Kateryna (Year 8)

                                                                                                                                     Student Librarian

Red Leaves – Sita Brahmaechan

 

This book is about how two children. Aisha, who was separated from her conflict-devastated home and now soon to be separated from her foster mother, and Zak who cannot cope with his parent’s divorce. With the happening of these two separate events they find themselves supporting each other as their lives become linked. This accurately pinpoints some refugees’ points of view with added happiness, the perspective makes sense for a child that age, yearning for family, yearning for home. This book moved me by the friendship they have. This is definitely a recommend for me!’

 

                                                                                                                                     Anushka (Year 8)

                                                                                                                                     Student Librarian

 

Twlight Robbery – Frances Hardinge

‘This is an amazing book in which a child, Mosca, who is immediately shunned by her name and her corresponding Beloved, Paltipattle, he who orders the house flies and other small flying things. Mosca and her acquaintance, Eponymous Clent, child of Phangvotte, go to Toll in hopes to go far away from the rebel town Mandelion, whom they helped revolt. In their time at Toll they meet a romantic kidnapper, a damsel in distress and even a separate town hidden until night. This book is full of adventure, taken from the perspective of a child viewed as a villain by society! It is an exciting read.’

 

                                                                                                                                     Anushka (Year 8)

                                                                                                                                     Student Librarian

 

December 2022

 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

 

‘A series of mysterious and eerie moral stories with humorous and heart-warming twists and turns of fantasy.’

 

                                                                                                                                                Erin (Year 11)

 

When the Sky Falls – Phil Earle

‘When the Sky Falls is an action-packed story about a boy who has to go to a place away from his parents because they have gone out to war in WW2. The person he lives with isn’t that nice and he turns into a troublemaker.’

                                                                                                                                                                Alex (Year 7)

                                                                                                                                                             Student Librarian

 

Alex Rider Eagle Strike by Anthony Horowitz

 

‘Alex Rider had 90 minutes to save the world but is he going to do it? Alex Rider is on holiday with Sabina and her parents but while relaxing at the beach he sees his worst enemy and Alex followed him because he thought that he was up to something. Want to know what happens next? Then what are you waiting for? Read Alex Rider!’

                                                                                                                                                               Aranjit (Year 8)

 

Alex Rider (Graphic Novel Series) – Anthony Horowitz

‘If you’re like me and don’t really like reading books and you have to have a really good and interesting book to sit there and read on and on and not get bored, then you need to try ALEX RIDER! I am currently on book 5 and every book has been breath taking, edge of seat stuff so what are you waiting for!’

                                                                                                                                                Theo (Year 8)

 

Unlocking the Universe by Stephen and Lucy Hawking

‘I loved reading this book which teaches you the basics of space, physics and time travel. If you’re a space lover (like me) this book is just the best for you!’

                                                                                                Victoria (Year 11)

 

Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver

‘I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and the amount of detailed world building to be found in it, enlightens the reader to the research Paver put in her book. A middle-grade child’s book, Wolf Brother, follows the story of Torak and a wolf cub, Wolf as they fight for survival. Fast-paced with excellent prose and foreshadowing, I recommend this book for adventurers who want to escape.’

                                                                                                            Thamiahini (Year 10)

 

The Curse of the Ravens by Rebecca Lisle

‘The book was really fun to read. My favourite part of the book was chapter 4 to chapter 6 and I think myself, the others did a very good job of it…overall its really fun to read.’

                                                                                                            Sienna (Year 7)

Shadowhunters – City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

 

‘The book is an enormously interesting on e and is full of plots twists which are never expected. The book is incredible, I would highly recommend.’

                                                                                                                Niamh (Year 10)

 

What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell

‘Filled with unexpected plot twists that will take your breath away.  Ever so intriguing once you begin reading.’

                                                                                                                                Reva (Year 11)

                                                                                                                                Student Librarian

                                                          

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

I like the Artemis Fowl book series because the characters in the story pick up on each other’s faults and they all help each other develop throughout the story. The quests offered throughout each book challenge each character’s main traits, and the antagonists of each book are always a match for the characters.

                                                                                                                        Sean (Year 11)

 

The Heroes of Olympus: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Not too long, not too short, a great book. It can really captivate an audience. It teaches a lot about Greek mythology too and all in all should be read.
 

                                                             Adeife (Year 7)

 

The Spook’s Mistake by Joseph Delaney

It’s a really great book. Every page is a thrill of mystery and adventure. I really recommend it.

                                                                                                                                                                Lisha (Year 7)

               

Diary of a Wimpey Kid: Cabin Fever by Jeff Kinney

I really liked Diary of a Wimpey Kid: Cabin Fever. One of the main reasons is the art. The drawing and the humour was amazing! 100% I also really like how Jeff Kinney makes his character designs. I also like how the main character does random things. Also, my last reason is probably the words and book covers houses.

                                                                                                                                                                Damian (Year 7)

 

The Highway Falcon Thief by M.G. Leonard & Sam Sedgman

I enjoyed the book because of its extraordinary story. The way the story is written is amazing because the characters are normal people but the author makes them sound so interesting. It’s also good because it says in the book where they are in England so you can look at the map at the front of the book and see where you are.

                                                                                                                                                                Alex (Year 7)

                                                                                                                                                                Student Librarian